Passacaglia: überfunk  for solo saxophone

Tony Davis

This chamberfunk piece for unaccompanied solo saxophone was written for the 2009 World Saxophone Congress in Bangkok where it was performed by the composer. Drawing on the early 17th century Spanish form, the piece is built around a motif which regularly punctuates the ever insistent funk grooves, riffs and evolving lines. Extended techniques are used to add an extra dimension to the piece; at times subtle, but often aggressive.

When searching for the right performance approach, the saxophonist may well be rewarded by keeping the phrase chamber-punk in mind.


Composer Tony Davis

Where are you from?

Instrumentation Any sax
Duration 4’40”
Style Chamberfunk
Suitable for Professional or under-graduate recital programme
Extended techniques Multiphonics
Postage & Packing UK £3  Rest of world £6.80


Saxophonists who have bought the printed music for  Iguaçu, Come Down and Dance can download the accompaniment and slow rehearsal extracts here